Friday, 10 January 2014

The Year Kicks Off With Some Great Exclusives

I have been lucky enough to be given early access by some great authors to their books that have me salivating at the prospect of reading them. I have to admit I get a tad nervous when I receive advanced copies of books. I see it as a great honour to be able to reviews books before they hit the shelves or in the case of e-books the screens. My review has the potential to help either kick start the books sales or have the reader look elsewhere for a good read.

So over the next 2 months I will be posting advanced reviews for:

Synopsis


In the vein of Erin Brockovich, The Departed, and T. J. English's Savage City comes this shocking true story of the biggest police corruption scandal in Philadelphia history, a tale of drugs, power, and abuse involving a rogue narcotics squad, a confidential informant, and two veteran journalists whose reporting drove a full-scale FBI probe, rocked the City of Brotherly Love, and earned a Pulitzer Prize.



Synopsis


Beirut, 2023: When undercover intelligence officer Warren Linder agrees to lure an exiled opponent of the President-for-Life back to an impoverished post-Civil War II America, Linder is unaware that the target is his childhood sweetheart’s father. On learning this, he ignores his inner alarms and plunges ahead. But a surprise encounter with the woman who rejected him long ago triggers a change in Linder that dooms the operation. His superiors, suspecting treachery, capture everyone present, including Linder, and spirit them back to the U.S. aboard a secret rendition flight. Linder’s ensuing journey takes him from a Virginia interrogation center to an Arctic labor camp; then, after a nearly impossible winter escape, on a 2000 mile trek to the Utah Security Zone, where his onetime love was last held. Though he finds her, their respective ordeals have changed them. The story reaches a climax in war-torn Cleveland, where Linder aims to recover his former target’s last cache of rebel funds and use it to take his loved ones beyond the regime’s reach. EXILE HUNTER is a tragic yet life-affirming saga of a man who risks everything to set right past wrongs, regain lost love and resist the tyranny he once served.


No comments:

Post a Comment