Saturday, 5 August 2017

The Sting Of The Wild



As the title suggests this book is about wild things that sting. Further to this it is about a entomologist who has come up with a scale to rate such stings. Being an Australian I was unaware of a lot of these little critters but that did not diminish my enjoyment of this book.
The Sting Of the Wild is mainly a story of the evolution of Insects and their defence systems. It is also a story of the authors own life fascination on the subject and his journey close and far afield to study them. Overall a good and entertaining read just lacked the sting in the tale to make it a great one.
3 Stars

Thursday, 27 July 2017

We Dive To Survive



Sooner are later I am expecting Nicholas Sansbury Smith to drop the ball. Surely he can't keep up this pace whilst maintaining the quality. Well in his this second installment of the Hell Diver Trilogy he has managed to deliver yet another top notch read. 

Ghosts takes us back into the world ripped apart from a nuclear war with a handful of humans fighting for survival. After the explosive first book the author takes no hostages in the second. The Hell Divers seek the truth the only was they no know how, they dive to survive.

This book was responsible for my blood pressure going sky high as the tension at times become unbearable. Nicholas Sansbury Smith definitely knows how to tell a great yarn again and again.


5 Stars

Wednesday, 19 July 2017

A Grim & Gritty Read


North Water delivers a cracking horror yarn set amidst the whaling trade of the 19th Century. Ian McGuire doesn't hold back in the telling of this tale and this adds to grittiness of the tale.

This book has several different narratives running alongside each other and I felt that all the character where well fleshed out and interacted well with each other inside the story arc. The opening of the book sets the tone well and introduces us to the most disturbing of all the characters.
 
In short this a fine mash up of Historical-Fiction, Horror and survival against the elements. Ian McGuire has stepped out of his comfort zone and came up with the goods.
 
3.5 Stars








Saturday, 15 July 2017

The Werewolves Are Back In Town


Okay people sorry for the sound of silence lately. But I am back and I have a heap of great reviews heading your way. Starting with the following:

 
 
 
I approached this read with some apprehension as the thought of a werewolf novel seemed a bit dated to me. I am very glad to say this book was far from that and the author bought werewolves screaming into 2017 for me.

Breeds in one of those style of books I love. It is a fantastic blend of suspense, thrills, horror and the type of sarcastic humour that leaves a smile on your dial long after the book is put down.
 
This is the first book of Keith C. Blackmore that I have read and if the rest of his offerings are the same he will quickly jump up into my favourite author list.

So if you are in the mood for some laughs and a battle in the snow to see who is top dog then please do yourself a favour and give Breeds a go. I guarantee you wont be disappointed.


4.5 Stars

Saturday, 3 June 2017

BOOM...Its Out Of The Park!!!!!




The new kid on the block has smashed a home run yet again with Trackers 2. He has continued where he left off plunging the reader into the terrifying world in which the USA is reeling from a devastating EMP attack. Nicholas Sansbury Smith is sky rocketing his way into the big leagues and this book form the young prolific writer is a shining example of why.

This book has all the elements expected in such a book and is delivered in perfect balance. This has the end result of immersing the reader into the  story and making the read so much more rewarding. Be warned though this book is not for those looking for a relaxing read it is a full tilt action packed thriller from woe to go. Bring on the next installment I am ready an willing to jump back in.

5 Stars

Saturday, 6 May 2017

The Mole People

I am delighted to have Pamellia back on board on sharing her thought on some excellent reads.



What a delightful read!  This is the best story I have read for a while.  It's full of interesting characters which are amazingly developed for such a short story, action and suspense. 

We start out with a father and young girl, his baby, waiting for a subway train in the wee hours of the morning.  The train is not on time, so waiting at 1:30 am becomes frustrating for the father and a bit scary for the little girl. She has heard stories of people who live underneath the subways in the many tunnels.  Her father assures her these people do not exist and there is no reason to be frightened.

The train does arrive and that's when the story really takes off.  There are twist and turns for the train and also the story.  Not too much more I can say without giving away the ending.I love a story that can be read in one sitting and this was such a story.  

There was a lot to it for only a few pages, I think less than 25.  We get to know the characters, their emotions and their deeply guarded grieves and fears.

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys a well written story.  5 stars for a wonderful job!  I always enjoy Mr. Light's stories, but this has got to be my favorite so far.  

5 Stars

Sunday, 30 April 2017

Great Mix of Fun and Fantasy





What happens in those RPG worlds when the last dice is rolled and the DM ends the session. Do the NPC's (Non Playing Characters to those not in the know) vanish or do their lives continue on away from those pesky and stupid adventurers? Drew Hayes uses is 20+ story telling skills to answer just these questions.



NPC'S is a cracking yarn that will bring a grin to all that have rolled a 20 sided dice to see if they have made a critical hit. This story is a delightful mix of fantasy, adventure and humour and I will definitely be returning to this particular world again.

4.5 Stars

Thursday, 30 March 2017

Deeply Disturbing


This book delivers a strangely enthralling and utterly disturbing read. Lionel Shriver very quickly pulls you into this masterpiece of fiction that is one of those books that is hard to explain. It tells the story of a Mothers recollections of raising her son that ends up on a mass murdering rampage.

But this is not what makes this book disturbing it is the interplay between the characters and what I can best describe as emotional manipulation that gets to you. If you have some lingering doubts about your little cherubs then avoid this book at all costs.

4.5 Stars

Friday, 17 March 2017

Classic Arachnid Horror


Came A Spider is a blast from the past with the book being released first in 1979, in what I consider the start of the golden age of horror. As one would expect from the title this book is not for those who have an aversion to our arachnid friends.

Whilst the plot is nothing new Levy delivers it in a highly entertaining and hair raising manner. The spiders are straight out terrifying and has your skin crawling all through the book. The book is somewhat dulled a little bit by the passing of time but that is to be expected. It touches on some modern day issues like global warming which I found very interesting.

This book is one or the classic horror fans out there. I am very glad I came across a second hand copy of this book and intend to explore Edward Levy more.


3.5 Stars

Tuesday, 7 March 2017

History of Cling Wrap

Plastic wrap is such a common and ordinary thing you can find in every house every day. If you have food left over after a meal it is sometimes quite common to put them in a plate and cover them with this film. The idea is to cover and seal off any food you want to put inside containers in order to keep them fresh. Its invention is credited to Ralph Wiley from Dow Chemical.

You will usually get plastic wrap in rolls contained in boxes. Each box usually comes with a cutting edge to make cutting the plastic film a lot easier. Every plastic film sticks to containers like an adhesive sealing food tight. It takes on different names depending on the location. In the United Kingdom, it’s called a cling-film. Some people in the United States call it cling wrap while it is called glad wrap.


Invention of the Plastic Wrap

The very first sheet of plastic ever used for wrapping anything was called cellophane. It was invented by Jacques Brandenberger, a Swiss chemist, in 1911. It was used as packaging and was quite favored due to the fact that it was transparent. However, it was never used to wrap or seal food. Needless to say, that isn’t the same as the plastic wrap that we use nowadays. The plastic wrap that we are familiar with is used primarily to wrap or cover food.

Saran is the very first sheet of plastic to be used to wrap food. Saran or Saran Wrap is a trade name of Dow Chemical. This actually refers to various polymers and monomers that has properties that act like a barrier. Compared to other plastics, this plastic wrap is able to contain aroma molecules, flavor, and water vapor more efficiently. Using this thin sheet of plastic helps in preserving food while retaining your dish’s aroma and flavor.


Who Invented Plastic Wrap

The invention of the modern plastic wrap is credited to Ralph Wiley, a lab worker for Dow Chemical. He accidentally discovered it while in the process of creating a dry cleaning product. However, Ralph Wiley’s invention wasn’t first used to wrap food. It was first used as a spray making a protective layer on fighter planes. It was only in 1949 when it was developed to keep food fresh.


Appreciating the Invention

Ralph Wiley’s wrap is quite a common thing we see almost every day. Looking into its accidental creation shows an act of pure serendipity. Today, his work benefits hundreds of households worldwide as a way to keep food fresh and flavorful.